Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

UPPF Fellows and Alum honored with end of year awards

The awards celebrate achievements in volunteer activities and service to the UIC community

The Institute for Policy and Civic Engagement is excited to celebrate the accomplishments of our current UPPF Fellows and Alums that were honored at the 47th Annual Chancellor’s Student Service and Leadership Awards on April 25th, recipients of The Eugertha Bates Memorial Award, Induction into the Activities Honorary Society, and The Chancellor’s Student Service Award (CSSA). See below for details:

The Eugertha Bates Memorial Award:  2017-2018 UPPF Alum, Marvin Slaughter 

Eugertha Bates Memorial Award (for humanitarian commitment) The Eugertha Bates Memorial Award (EBMA) honors a student whose volunteer activities in a campus or community setting demonstrate an outstanding degree of caring dedication, selfless commitment, and a truly exceptional humanitarian contribution to the needs of others. Nominations for this award must include a detailed description of the uniqueness and significance of the nominee's humanitarian service and the impact on the campus/community through his/her episodic or ongoing service.

Induction into the Activities Honorary Society: 2018-2019 UPPF Fellow, Juan Zavala

Since 1950, the Activities Honorary Society (AHS) has recognized undergraduate students whose leadership in a variety of student organizations has contributed to a better University of Illinois at Chicago community. The Activities Honorary Society was founded by student leaders at the University of Illinois Undergraduate Division at Navy Pier and weathered the transition to the Chicago Circle Campus. It is one of only two active traditions still remaining from the Navy Pier Campus.

The Chancellor’s Student Service Award (CSSA): 

2018- 2019 UPPF Fellow- Cristian Baeza, 2018- 2019 UPPF Fellow -Kayla Butler, 2018-2019 UPPF Fellow-Tyler Portis, 2017-2018 UPPF Alum- Marvin Slaughter, 2018- 2019 UPPF Fellow- Juan Zavala

The Chancellor’s Student Service Award (CSSA) honors students who have made an outstanding contribution to the University through service to campus and the UIC community. Student nominees must have dedicated a significant amount of time, effort, and creativity to one or more campus- or community-based service project(s).

Congratulations to all of our UPPF Fellows on your outstanding accomplishments!